QNA Endurance Trophies 2014-2018
Posted on Tuesday 26th February, 2019

Noosa Masters – E 1000 Champions 2018

Congratulations to our Noosa Masters (QNA), for becoming the Endurance 1000 Champions for the sixth consecutive year! The closest opponents (once again) were the Talays Masters, Tasmania some 5425 points behind.  In 2017 the margin was 4404 points so QNA continue onwards and upwards.

The results for the top six clubs are as follows:

Noosa QLD 22457
Talays TAS 17032
Tuggeranong ACT 16911
Campletown NSW 12136
Miami QLD 12040
Blacktown City NSW 10720

Nine female swimmers and eleven male swimmers ranked in the Top 10 results for Age and Gender. This has been a great effort from the supporters, club members and the Endurance Team – Trish, Jane, Grant, Jim, Ian Mitchell, Denise, Adele, Linda and Bob Martin.


As at March 2018 there were 80 registered members of which 65 participated in the program. QNA had an exceptionally high participation rate across the club.

Average points tally per participant was 255 which placed them 7th on averages (8th last year). Clubs which achieved higher averages were:

Talays Masters 516 pts 33 participants
Campbelltown Collegians 433 pts 28 participants
Wests Auburn Masters 390 pts 13 participants

Several other clubs achieved high average points but had low participant numbers. Seven members achieved maximum points (1005) which replicates 2017. Congratulations to these swimmers:

  • Wear Armstrong
  • Irene Symons
  • Brian Hoepper
  • Ian Tucker
  • Rob Lucas
  • Mark Powell
  • Jo Matthews

Other notable performances were achieved by:

Jane Powell 935 points
Adele Tucker 841 points
Denise DeCarlo 814 points
Quentin Lee 802 points
Wendy Ivanusec 732 points
Ian Mitchell 695 points
Jacky Shields 695 points
Jim Barnes 639 points
Sally Johnson 570 points

Looking Forward to 2019:

The 2019 year has started off at a blistering pace with good turnouts for the first few Endurance sessions (must be the weather and the New Year resolutions). 

On a personal note thanks to all club members in maintaining the rage and a great result for 2018. Bring on 2019!

Rod Alfredson, QNA Endurance Coordinator

Further information on the 2018 results is available on the MSQ website here: https://mastersswimmingqld.org.au/programs/

Many thanks to Vorgee, our proud E1000 Sponsors.

Jo Matthews with Noosa E1000 trophies
Thank you Vorgee