Posted on Monday 13th November, 2023

Sunshine Coast Masters Shine

The Sunshine Coast Masters Meet was held on Saturday, October 28, 2023, at the Kawana Aquatic Centre. It was a day where the masters of the Sunshine Coast had their time to shine! Thanks to Meet Director and President, Clare Somerville for this recap of the highlights and camaraderie that defined this enjoyable day. 

The Sunshine Coast Masters (QSC) would like to thank the 100 swimmers who entered the meet. Swimmers represented 23 Masters Swimming Queensland clubs on the day.

There had been concerns about the weather on the night before, with rain and high winds, which delayed our set up until the morning of the meet. But, thankfully the day of the meet itself was sunny (if still a bit windy)!

The Sunshine Coast Masters were lucky to have Julie and Greg Bott from Noosa Masters again offer their support. Thank you, Julie, for your superb announcing on the day, and Greg for providing the PA equipment and the wonderful play list. You both helped make the meet very enjoyable.

There were plenty of timekeepers throughout the meet thanks to volunteers from Kawana Juniors, friends of swimmers and swimmers who were unable to complete on the day.

A big thank you to the MSQ Officials, our local volunteer Starter Serg Gubecka and Recorder, Sean Bofinger.

Whilst we tallied the results, Stuart Seymour performed some songs and the swimmers tucked into the BBQ. It was wonderful to see so many swimmers stay to enjoy the BBQ, music and presentation.

The small clubs trophy went to Gympie Gold Fins and the large clubs was won by Belgravia Masters. Well done to these teams.

Congratulations to the winners in each age group and the record breakers: Robert Patterson (76) in the 200m Breaststroke, Brett Woods (61) in the 100 Freestyle and of course, the UQ Masters Men’s 200m Freestyle Relay (240-279) team made up of William O’Leary, Darryl Hurley, Allan Samuels and Brett Woods.

Finally, thank you to everyone who supported our raffle. Hopefully there were some very happy winners.