Posted on Friday 13th October, 2023

Toowoomba Tadpoles Meet 2023

After a 6 year hiatus, the Toowoomba Tadpoles enthusiastically hosted a swim meet to celebrate our 40th year of swimming on the 7th of October.

A remarkable total of 104 competitors, representing 21 clubs, made the journey “up the hill” to the Clive Berghoffer Sports and Aquatic Centre at the Glennie School for an afternoon of friendly competition, reminiscing and companionship.

Special recognition is due to Lionel Scotney, our Vice President and founding Tadpole, as well as David Haley from Brisbane Southside Masters and Trish Robinson from Rackley Masters, who were present at our inaugural swim meet back in 1983. We also warmly welcomed Steve Bollens, our esteemed guest from US Masters Oregon.

The weather, though typical for this time of year in Toowoomba, failed to dampen the spirits of our determined participants. The indoor setting shielded us from the chilly winds and provided a warm and inviting atmosphere.

The meet ran impeccably and on schedule, thanks to the efforts of Don (Meet Director), Carolyn (Club Captain), the dedicated officials, and the wonderful volunteers who sacrificed their afternoon to help with marshalling and timekeeping.

At the conclusion of the meet, key rings and coffee mugs were presented to the top three swimmers in each age group. The following club awards were then announced:

  • Small Club Trophy: Brisbane Northside Masters
  • Large Club Trophy: UQ Masters
  • Relay Team of the Meet Trophy: UQ Masters

There were 2 National and 8 State individual records broken, as well as 5 State Relay records lowered. Congratulations to all the competitors that contributed to these impressive results.

Our club extends heartfelt thanks to our major sponsor, Paint-Colour. We are grateful to Rebecca and Mark for their generosity and appreciate the dedication of everyone who played a part in selling tickets for the exciting raffle prizes.

Thank you to all for attending and celebrating our 40th anniversary with us. We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Wayne Carlish,

President, Toowoomba Tadpoles.


More photos