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ATTENTION BREASTSTROKE and IM SWIMMERS 
 

In recent events officials have reported breaststroke swimmers who took a 
second arm stroke without doing an intermediate kick to reach the end of the 
pool. This has been seen at turns and at the finish of races. 
 
This action, two consecutive arm strokes, leaves the Event Referee with no 
choice but to disqualify you, the swimmer. It does not matter how short the 
second arm stroke was. 
 
Rule SW 7 Breaststroke details all the actions that can and can’t be done in 
Breaststroke. Rule SW 7.2 states “throughout the race the stroke cycle must 
be one arm stroke and one leg kick in that order”.  
 
This means if you find yourself very close to the end wall when completing an 
arm stroke you should lunge forward with your hands to touch the wall. Rule 
SW 7.3 allows your elbows to be above the water on this last stroke, making 
the finishing touch easier to achieve. This action should be practised in 
training. 
 
Alternatively, follow your last stroke with a kick as required by Rule SW 7.2 
and hold your hands out till you touch. It is better to lose a second than be 
disqualified. 
 
Never take a second stroke, or second kick to finish a lap. If you are in any 
doubt talk to your coach or one of the Referees. 
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